Have I been blocked in iOS 7? Here's how to tell if someone has blocked your number on their iOS 7 iPhone.
iOS 7, the latest version of Apple's iPhone, iPad and iPod touch operating system, added (among many other new features) the ability to block phone numbers. It's as simple as you could ask for, and incredibly handy if you are frequently bothered by nuisance callers.
But what if someone blocks you? You're probably being paranoid, and shouldn't worry - but if the idea is really bothering you, there are a few giveaway signs. In this article we look at the clues you can use to find out if a contact has blocked your phone number on their iOS 7 iPhone.
First of all, however, we should come out and admit that there isn't a way (that we know of) to find out for sure if you've been blocked, beyond getting hold of your friend's iPhone and checking the blocked list. (If you discover a method, do let us know, but we can't see why Apple would make this information available to the blockee.) These are clues, not surefire evidence, and if you really want to know - well, maybe you should ask.
Have I been I been blocked in iOS 7: What happens to a blocked call?
To test what happens to a blocked call, we blocked ourselves and monitored the experience on both phones. First of all, the call does ring - but only once. We were then informed that the recipient wasn't available, and diverted to voicemail.
Bizarrely enough, we could actually leave a message - this feels a bit humiliating when you know it's just a charade! - but needless to say the blocker was never notified of this message, and it never appeared anywhere that we are aware of. We doubt that Apple even bothers to record it.
Indeed, the blocker was never bothered at all, and wouldn't have know this was all going on if they weren't in on the experiment.
Have I been I been blocked in iOS 7: What happens to a blocked text message?
Texting someone who's blocked you seems completely normal. The message sends as normal, and you don't get an error message. This is no help at all for clues.
The call is the best source of evidence. The key here is that you will always be diverted to voicemail after exactly one ring - if they were declining your call the number of rings would vary each time, and if the phone was switched off, it wouldn't ring at all. (If they were using Do Not Disturb, it would ring as normal, only silently - and of course bear in mind that one Do Not Disturb setting allows the user to specify that repeated calls are allowed through - so you could always try again right away. Just make sure your call is urgent, or they may block you for real this time!)
Finally, though, we would like to repeat that this isn't an exact science, so don't make any angry scenes without knowing for sure. Also: chill out, relax, and try not to worry about it. If they've blocked your number, hey, who needs them?