Everything goes up to the cloud these days; Apple’s iPhone and iPad products can sometimes do it automatically and not everyone understands how it works. It means all your photos and videos can be uploaded straight to the iCloud so you can access them on all your devices and they’ll be there for safe keeping.
Sometimes you don’t want it to work automatically though, just ask the celebrities who have fallen foul to The Great Naked Photos Leak Of 2014. Celebrities including Jennifer Lawrence, Kate Upton and Ariana Grande have had naked photos leaked after a 4Chan user found the images on Apple’s iCloud Photostream service.
If you want to ensure your photos and videos, naked or not, are safe on your Apple iPhone or iPad then it may be time to disable Apple’s iCloud service. Read on for how to turn it off, remember you can always reverse the process when you want it back on.
Decide Which Devices
If you’re fully integrated to the Apple eco-system it’s likely you’ll own a Mac, iPad and an iPhone. All these are connected through the iCloud, that’s how your photos from your mobile devices appear on your Mac.
You need to decide on which devices you wish to kill iCloud's syncing. We warn you though, if you decide to turn it off on all of your devices, all the images previously saved to the iCloud will be lost.
So if you must turn it off on all your devices be sure to save the images manually beforehand.
Head Into Settings
On your iPhone or iPad, head into the Settings menu. It’s the little grey app with a darker cog logo inside of it. Then you’ll find a sub-section called iCloud. For a Mac you’ll find iCloud under the System Preference menu.
Turn Off Photostream
From inside your iCloud menu you’ll be able to turn off Photostream.
Have You Shared A Photostream?
If you’ve got any previously manually shared Photostreams you’ll need to delete them separately. To do so you need to head into the Photos app on your iOS device or iPhoto on your Mac.